The Tarot was originally known as Trionfi-it was used around  500 yrs ago to play card games in Italy an France. Its use for spiritual divination and esoteric purposes began in the 18th century. A traditional Tarot deck contains 78 cards.

There were four suits in original decks  ”swords” “Baton” “clubs” and “coins” more modern decks replace the Batons with wands and the coins with either disks or pentacles. Each suit consist of 14 cards 1-10 pip value cards and four royal cards King, Queen, Knight, Page/Jack, making 56 cards in total..these are know as the minor arcana.

In the card games played throughout Europe there was a trump suit , this contained 22 cards and is what is todays major arcana..they are.

The Magician, The High priestess, The Empress, The Emperor, The Hierophant, The Lovers, The Chariot, Strength, The Hermit, Wheel of fortune, Justice, The hanged Man, Death, Temperance, The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgement, The World and of course “The Fool”.

Each one of the major arcana are depicted with a picture of its representation, some decks are beautifully illustrated while others are more simply defined.

Here is a simple basic listing of the meanings of all the Major Arcana.

  1. The Magician…The male power of creation by willpower & desire. (To Reveal)
  2. The High Preistess…The Female power of keeping things hidden . (ideas etc)
  3. The Empress..This is the power of creating the mothering card. (the how to create ideas etc.)
  4. The Emperor..The card of order and boldness and action (The going and doing )
  5. The Hierophant..The earthly power of man (harmony, peace, etc.)
  6. The Lovers..This is the power of ones love for another (Attraction etc)
  7. The Chariot..The Power of getting what you want.(Win at any cost)
  8. Strength:…The spiritual feminine power.(power through humility and gentleness)
  9. The Hermit: The power of peace and solitude. (time away to reflect)
  10. Wheel of fortune:..The power of luck and change. (Good fortune)
  11. Justice:..The power of balance. (= measures of fun,work,and play)
  12. The Hanging Man:..The inner perspective. (turning your world upside down)
  13. Death:..The power of endings. (the end of something)
  14. Temperance:..The power of moderation (avoid excesses)
  15. The Devil:..The power of sins. (freeing yourself)
  16. The Tower:..The realisation of truth.(seeing things different to what you know)
  17. The Star:..The power of hope and healing (A better healthier future)
  18. The Moon:..The power of vision,genius,and madness. (our creativity and inner darkness)
  19. The Sun:..The power of glory,triumph. (Our inner light and life victories)
  20. Judgement:..Judgement day, rebirth and resurrection: (sort things and move on)
  21. The World: the power of mother Earth:..(travel,compassion and having little)

The Fool:..Power of the infinite possibilities. (Making something from nothing)

This is only y a very basic easy to understand meanings. I hope you find them helpful.

I love the tarot..i am the fool..i lose at poker all the time.


Take care

Kindest Regards



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s